Boston, Boiled Dinners and Sirsy, part 2

 

So after the glorious boiled dinner, Dawn and I staggered down the stairs and out into Boston again. Our Mission??? DESSERT!!!!

Ok, I know, I’ve been on this kick to lose weight. Last year, I lost over 60 lbs. The problem is…I kinda gained some back…*sighs*

Recently, my good friend H (and even more recently, C) started running. Not just running mind you, but running for a marathon. She joined a group called Team In Training, which raises money for research into different cancers and such. At first, I was intrigued by this notion of getting into shape to raise money for disease research. Then, as time has gone by, I was amazed at the change in H. She has a passion for running and this cause that I wish I had.

So, as an experiment, I started trying to jog at the gym. Usually when I step on a treadmill, I do a fast walk at best. Most of my cardio has been done on an elliptical machine, which, as it turns out, is far far far far easiser than jogging. My first attempt at jogging on a treadmill resulted in worried looks from the people around me. There was this feeling in the air like someone was getting ready to call an ambulance. I barely lasted 10 minutes. It was a humbling experience. I was so proud of my hour long elliptical machine sessions I thought that progressing towards jogging would be so easy. I was way way way way wrong. After 10 minutes of jogging on the treadmill, I thought I was going to die. After a few months of slowly adding time, I’m up to just making it to 30 minutes. Barely…. I can manage this about 3 times a week. The rest of the time I’m in there, I do the eliptical and weights. So, I’m really trying to work on the weight issue…all I know is, my clothes are getting baggier and baggier…which is a wonderful thing. I wish I was in the kind of shape I would need to be to join H and C in the Team In Training program, that kind of goal setting would work wonders for me.

Anyway, so back to Boston,….we went out in search of desserts. When you are in the Faneuil Hall/Quincey Market area, there is only one place for me: the ice cream place insode the market. It’s the very end of the building and amazingly expensive (can you say tourist trap?) but they make the BEST ice cream around and they do smash-ins. For those who don’t know, that’s when they take a few scoops of ice cream and take your favorite toppings and proceed to mix the two. Heavenly!

I had Death By Chocolate ice cream with oreo and mini m&ms…I was in chocolate overload! Dawn ordered a fruit based frappe (or as she said “Frapp-ay”). This dessert was a sgnificant deviance from my self imposed exile from sweets, but as Carolyn can attest too, my will power isn’t that great. A few weeks before, she and I shared some chocolate concoction at the Amherst Brewery….but lately, I have purposely tried changing my diet along with the new jogging regime so having ice cream the other night was a big failing on my part. A delicious, chocolatey, decadent, dripping down my chin failing…..*drool* Going to this ice cream place is almost a tradition for me every time I wander into Boston…been going there since I was in grade school when we would stop there on field trips on our way to the aquarium or the museum of science.

We wandered into the center rotunda of the market and sat down for a few minutes, enjoying our frozen treats…until the folk singer started up. Now normally, I enjoy folk singing, but this guy was awful….just made me think of all the worst stereotypes you could through together about folk singers combined into one warbling acoustc guitar slinging guy. He started in with Puff the Magic Dragon and I darted out the side door. Dawn followed, laughing at me. She could tune it out, but as soon as he started that song, his voice seemed to hit a nerve that caused me to race from the room. Finishing up our icy treats, we headed back outside to trek up to government center and on to the Kinsale.

Leave a Reply

