Music that is rockin my cd player (stolen from 2LD)

As the title implies, I stole this from 2LazyDogs. I have been a little sick for the past week and just been avoiding writing anything and I was happy as hell to see a MEME I could sink my teeth into. So here is the music that is rocking my socks right now! I’m not tagging anyone for this but feel free to steal , rinse, lather and repeat! 🙂

The Horrorpops

How can you not love this band? Psychobilly silliness, gorgeous singer and goth girl go-go dancers!

The Mighty Mighty Bosstones

Old school video from the old days of the Boston punk scene…ah, memories.

Dropkick Murphys

The dvd that this video comes from has yours truly toasting the camera during one of the songs, albeit from a distance….

 The Dresden Dolls

Been following these two for ages and absolutely love the quirkiness and the whole punk cabaret aesthetic.

SIRSY

Gotta give a shout out to my good friends from Albany. Not the best sound on this video but you may notice a dashing young man in black snapping photos from the crowd…..

Elizabeth and the Catapult

This video has nothing to do with the band. Funny juxtaposition with World Of Warcraft and this song…love it.  Yup, I’m a geek. First heard this band on NPR and been loving them ever since.

The White Stripes

I love the Stripes and damn this album is so loud and almost perfect from beginning to end!

The Raconteurs

More silliness from Mr White and his co-conspirators. This album is another testimony to his diversity and guitar skills.

Suicide City

Yup, I had to add a little screamo-silliness! Love the bass player and they put on a hell of a show!

Soul Coughing

Love this song and I can’t get it out of my head!!!

LOURDS

And finally, my friends from New York City. Not the best sound on this video but you can hear the violin and guitar clearly as well as Miss Lourds voice and again, you may notice a certain photographer in the audience…..

9 responses to “Music that is rockin my cd player (stolen from 2LD)

  1. 2LD – First heard them on Studio 360 on NPR…been trying to catch them live when they play Boston…Glad you liked them 🙂

    And as a point of clarification: in the Lourds and Sirsy videos, I’m the guy in black taking pictures, not the goofy guy with the mullet and baseball cap…

  2. Great taste in music you got there! Heard a couple of new bands (new to me) I will have to look into. The singer for SIRSY has an fantastic voice!!

  3. Thanks Girly! Melanie (Sirsy) is amazing! She has a huge range and she’s a one woman band playing stand up drum kit, flute and singing, sometimes all at the same time. As her boyfriend Rich (the man workin the pole in the vid) says, “If Mel ever learns to play guitar at the same time, he’s fucked and out of a job”. Absolutely love those two and they so deserve some mainstream succes and I’m not just saying that because they are my friends…they have independantly produced 6 albums, play 260+ dates a year and have opened for some big names, they truly deserve some major recognition.
    Side note – Melanie and Lourds made their off-broadway debut performing in the rock opera Superchicks, written by Miss Lourds Lane. It was a one night production featuring a collection of NYC female singers from various other indie bands. The house band included Jennifer Arroyo, bass player for Suicide City and Sarah Vasil on drums from LOURDS. They are currently retooling the rock opera, re-casting and awaiting a start date (I believe, haven’t had an update in awhile) so hopefully this will get some major attention drawn their way. Melanie was definitely the show stopper for the rockopera! Everytime she came out, the place erupted with applause. I didn’t get to be there for it, but seen the videos and personal testimonies from those in attendance….

  4. RED – Awww…don’t feel old! As I wrote about in a previous post on here, I used to hang with the TAANG Records crowd in Harvard Square back when that video was made! Used to know all the Bosstones, back in the day. 🙂 So when I found that video and realized that was TWENTY YEARS AGO, I really felt old…I was an angry teenage punk rocker then and now I’m…umm…an adult? *shudder*

  5. You’re absolutely in your element with a music blog 🙂 I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I haven’t heard of any of these groups…except Sirsy, and I have you to thank for that. Wait, I have heard of White Stripes. Didn’t the main guy from that make an album for Loretta Lynn? If it’s related to country music, I’m fairly knowledgeable. Blame it on my hicktown roots. (but don’t hold it against me)

  6. ALLISON – Thanls for the compliment. I have been kinda mulling over the idea of doing little music and concert reviews here, but since most of the concerts I go to are obscure bands, not sure how interesting it would be.
    Jack WHite produced Loretta Lynn’s “VAn Lear Rose” in 2004. 🙂

Leave a Reply

