Loaded Smashed Potatoes and Giblet Gravy – Don’t Even Bother to Count the Calories

When I was a little kid, whipped potatoes only meant one thing: a viscous pile of potato flavored goo drowned in brown gravy.Β  I remember loving it! Everything about it was all wrong: tons of butter and milk, whipped together with the potatoes, whipped to the point where there was no original texture left. As I learned to cook and expand my notion of what whipped potatoes could be, I discovered the wonderful world of smashed potatoes. No electric whipping device, just you, some simple ingredients and a hand smasher and what came out wasn’t whipped beyond all recognition. It was chunky, flavorful and far more interesting than the white pile I was used to.

When it comes to Thanksgiving, I love going overboard with the potatoes. Instead of just simple smashed potatoes, I like to immitate the old loaded baked potato. And as the title says, don’t bother worrying about calories at this point.

smashed

LOADED SMASHED POTATOES

5 lb bag of red potatoes, lightly washed, bad spots removed, leaving most of the skin, quartered

6-10 stalks of green onions, cleaned and diced

2 cups of shredded cheese (jack or asiago cheese)

1 lb maple cured bacon, cooked, drained and crumbled

1/2 cup sour cream

1 stick of butter

1 to 1 1/2 cups of half & half

6 cloves roasted garlic, crushed

kosher salt

pepper

oregano

basil

paprika

chopped fresh parsley

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and salt liberally. Add cleaned and quartered red potatoes to pot and bring back to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer until potatoes are fork tender. Drain water from pot and place pot back onto burner. Turn on a low flame and begin smashing potatoes. The heat from the low flame will boil off any excess moisture, but watch the pot closely! Do not burn your potatoes!!!

Remove the pot of smashed potatoes from the heat and fold in stick of butter, sour cream and begin to add half & half. Keep adding until you reach desired texture. Looks too dry for you? Add more half & half. Be careful! If it gets too soupy, your only option is to go out and buy some potatoes…. πŸ™‚ After you have achieved desired texture, combine cheese, bacon, garlic, green onions and spices to taste.Garnish with fresh chopped parsley.

gravy-web

GIBLET GRAVY

drippings from turkey

corn starch

giblets and neck meat

salt

pepper

1/2 cup sherry (Harvey’s Bristol Cream is my choice)

Combine giblets (heart, live, kidneys) and neck meat into a food processor. Give a few good pulses to shred the meat. No need to liquify it.

Pour turkey drippings into a medium sauce pan. Turn heat on high and combine with sherry. Bring to a boil and slowly whisk in corn starch until desired thickness is achieved. Add giblets and salt and pepper to taste.

Nobody is losing weight at my Thanksgiving Feast. And with all the leftovers, you can finally make LEFTOVERS SHEPHERDS PIE. And I’ll be sharing that recipe tomorrow… πŸ™‚

7 responses to “Loaded Smashed Potatoes and Giblet Gravy – Don’t Even Bother to Count the Calories

  1. That granola bar I had for breakfast is totally not cutting it.

    Few things beat potatoes with REAL butter.

    Hell yeah! I have tried using substitutes when making smashed potatoes before, but real creamy butter has a flavor that margarine or olive oil cannot even come close to….

  2. I think I just gained a few pounds LOOKING at the potatoes. They look heavenly. Mashed potatoes are one of my favorite foods but b/c of all the calories I don’t eat them often 😦 I tried to make gravy once. Tried…once. Apparently gravy and I don’t get a long.

    I used to defer to my mom when it came to gravy (gave her something to do to contribute) but now, I just take over every role in the kitchen and gravy is a little source of pride. Using a whisk and cornstarch instead of a fork and flour, my gravy is rarely lumpy…. πŸ™‚
    I wish that photo was mine, but I stole it off the web, but when you see these potatoes in front of you, you can feel your arteries hardening

  3. Oh I love making pies out of the leftovers at Thanksgiving. I usually try to have some crusts and disposable pans at the ready to fill a plate and send people home with! I’m interested in seeing how you do yours. Your site is not going to be good for me to lose weight, I can see. πŸ˜‰

    I’ve only recently started writing about food…most of my writing is about my little life, but since food and cooking and the gatherings that happen around them are such a huge part of my life, I figured I would explore this for a little bit and share some recipes…
    Most of my recipes are definitely not for the faint of heart and probably not that wonderful for your heart, but thats why these are recipes and recipes change and evolve with each usage. πŸ™‚

  4. OH MY GOD…I am SO wanting those loaded smashed potatoes on this cold winter’s Monday night when I didn’t work out..haha πŸ˜‰

    Yeah, after one of my Thanksgiving Feast Carbfests, kinda hard to imagine going to the gym… I can barely move once I’ve worked my through that menu… πŸ™‚

  5. this blog is sure making me hungry lately…Happy Thanksgiving!!

    You just made me realize that I forgot to post my shepherds pie recipe…whoops! I’m a dork…
    Glad my food ideas have made you hungry! πŸ™‚

  6. I don’t know if I can handle the gravy, but I think I could do the potatoes! Oh, and about the calorie thing…I noticed that your subsequent post’s picture featured a can of Diet Coke in the background πŸ™‚

    Heehee…shameless product placement… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

