Year of the Gut – A New Blog Coming Soon

It starts this friday.

I’m not going to abandon this blog. On the contrary, I think I will need this blog more than ever as an outlet. But but but…I need something that will keep me honest, keep me on track and keep me in mind of my goals. So ready or not, the Year of the Gut is coming.

One of the best tools reccomended by most nutritionists and trainers I have spoken with is to keep a daily log of what you eat and how you exercise, including days of rest and any cheats you may have throughout the day. The Year of the Gut will feature a starting photo (due to popular demand, there will be NO photos of me in a speedo with no shirt on like the Biggest Loser), weekly weigh-ins and a comprehensive list of my daily bad habits and how I am going to work towards making them healthier. I’m not that strong with the whole calorie count thing, but I plan on noting what I eat, how often I eat and I will welcome any suggestions on how to make it all healthier.

I can’t garuntee how entertaining or even interesting the new blog will be, but I would love your support and feedback as I work on changing my life and improving my health. The Year of the Gut is going to be a tough one, full of temptation, frustration, but most importantly, it will be a year of hope. I want to change and I know I can do this.

A special thanks to the Amazing Miss Romi for inspiring the title for my new venture.Β I certainly hope she doesn’t mind me using her former blog title and sees it in the humorous light as Β it was intended. πŸ™‚

8 responses to “Year of the Gut – A New Blog Coming Soon

  1. Are you kidding I LOVE the new title! And really I’m the one who stole it from Chinese New Year anyway (i.e. “year of the rat” and all that, haha)….I look foward to cheering you on in “Year of the Gut!” πŸ™‚

    Thank you, Miss Romi. πŸ™‚ I need all the support and cheers and asskicking I can get for this adventure….

  2. Good for you. I wonder if The Year of the Belly, Butt, Boob, and Batwings is taken?

    Seriously, I support anything anyone does to try and improve themselves. We are all works in progress and I will cheer you on if you keep us posted on when and where your new blog will be.

    Thanks for the support! πŸ™‚ I hope by doing this publicly and keeping daily notes, I can keep myself honest and on track…I hope… πŸ™‚

  3. Best of luck with the new blog and with the new healthier life choices!

    You can DO it!!
    I have faith.

    I need a little faith….
    cue the George Michael music…
    actually, no, don’t…please… πŸ™‚

  4. Well now this is going to be exciting! I’m disappointed there will be no pictures, but I understand πŸ™‚ Good luck on your quest!

    There will be a before pic, just not the stereotypical “Biggest Loser” muffin top picture….those are just frightening….

  5. there’s nothing better than beginning a new year with hope. your blog is sure to be a success with that attitude. i look forward to reading it! cheers, R

    thank you R! I think your positive attitude has influenced me a little… πŸ™‚

  6. Whoo Hoo! I’m excited for you and wish you the best! I’m kind of envious that you’re willing to lay yourself out there and for sure I’ll be keeping up giving encouragement.

    I think thats the scary part: good or bad, you are going to see everything, every day…not to mention weekly weigh-ins and “update” photos…
    oh the embarassments I have set myself up for….

  7. I’ve lost 16 lbs. in the past 3 months but not because I’ve been responsible. I wish I’d lost the way counting calories, exercising, eating right… exactly what you’re doing. No… instead I got stressed, barfed and stopped eating.

    I know you can do this.

    Thank you for the encouragement. Wish I could help with the stress and such. My normal reaction to a stressed out friend is to cook them an elaborate meal (see Year of the Gut for more on that) but since you have been nauseous to say the least, maybe some stew….. πŸ™‚ a little something to calm your stomach…I have recipes I could email you…hmmm, now I’m flipping through the cookbook in my head…heehee

Leave a Reply

